2009 – Tromso, Norway

2009 Tromso NorwayThe Agreement on the Conservation of Polar Bears was concluded in Oslo, Norway, on 15 November 1973, and today has Canada, Greenland, Norway, Russia and the United States of America as parties.
At a polar bear range states meeting in Shepherdstown, West Virginia, USA, 26 – 28 June 2007, the range states, in accordance with the provisions of the Agreement, including Articles VIII and IX, agreed that meetings under the Agreement should be held on a biennial schedule or otherwise as agreed to by the Parties.
The range states also agreed in Shepherdstown that the first such meeting should be held in 2009, and in 2008 the parties welcomed the offer of Norway to host such a meeting. Against this background, the five parties met in Tromsø, Norway, 17 – 19 March 2009, with an objective to provide an update on the conservation status for the polar bears, review implementation of the Agreement, identify useful polar bear conservation strategies and to discuss mechanisms for enhanced implementation of the Agreement

File Name: 2009_Tromso_Meeting_Outcome_Document.pdf
File Size: 33.19 KB
File Type: application/pdf
Hits: 4650 Hits
Created Date: 01-10-2018
Last Updated Date: 01-10-2018

Member state contacts

Flag_Canada.jpg Flag_Greenland.jpg Flag_Norway.jpg Flag_Russia.jpg Flag_USA.jpg