About: The Polar Bear Range States

The representatives to the Parties that are signatory to the 1973 Agreement on the Conservation of Polar Bears, that are collectively known  as the Polar Bear Range States (Norway, Canada, Greenland, the Russian Federation and the United States), have a long record of cooperation on polar bear conservation.

At the time the Agreement was signed, the most significant threat facing the polar bear was unregulated and unsustainable harvest, and populations in some areas were considered to be substantially depleted. Since that time, measures implemented by the Range States, such as controlled harvest management programs and the establishment of protected areas, have increased polar bear population sizes in those areas where unsustainable hunting was a problem prior to 1973.

2009 – Tromsø, Norway

Download meeting notes
Tromso DSCF1064 smallPhoto credit: Morten Ekker

2011 – Iqaluit, Canada

Download meeting notesIqaluit. Photo: UNEP GRID ArendalPhoto credit: UNEP GRID Arendal

2013 – Moscow, Russia

Download meeting notesIMG 0544 promoPhoto credit: Morten Ekker

2015 – Ilulissat, Greenland

Download meeting notes(comming soon)P9030833 promoPhoto credit: Morten Ekker