About: The Polar Bear Range States

The representatives to the Parties that are signatory to the 1973 Agreement on the Conservation of Polar Bears, that are collectively known  as the Polar Bear Range States (Norway, Canada, Greenland, the Russian Federation and the United States), have a long record of cooperation on polar bear conservation.

At the time the Agreement was signed, the most significant threat facing the polar bear was unregulated and unsustainable harvest, and populations in some areas were considered to be substantially depleted. Since that time, measures implemented by the Range States, such as controlled harvest management programs and the establishment of protected areas, have increased polar bear population sizes in those areas where unsustainable hunting was a problem prior to 1973.

1973 Agreement on the Conservation of Polar Bears

Photo: U.S. Fish and WildlifePhoto credit: Markus Dyck, Government of Nunavut

2013 Ministerial Declaration

Photo: Morten EkkerPhoto: Morten Ekker


Photo: Morten EkkerPhoto credit: Morten Ekker

IUCN PBSG Scientific Advisory Body


PBear flags

Member state contacts

Flag_Canada.jpg Flag_Greenland.jpg Flag_Norway.jpg Flag_Russia.jpg Flag_USA.jpg